Diatribe

 

Reaction to Nihilistic Modernism

Artist burns painting in protest of modern art’s rejection of our collective sensibilities and sensual nature; rendering even landscapes to depressing views of our denatured industrialized cities.

And now I am seeing textural paintings designed to replace dirt on people’s monotonous sterilized walls. It is an intellectually interesting movement, but seems insane to me. Maybe I should try one to see if any one actually likes them.

I love classical figurative surrealism, even if it can be intellectual. But I am bored by the lack of drama in contemporary realism. I just want people to fall in love with my art.

  Simply adorable will not do. In fact an artist has a better chance of selling pure shock value. Hollywood sells so much of that I think there must be a dangerous amount of crazy people running the world.

 

 

Leave a Reply

